top of page
Search

Oh, the Sunsets I've Seen!

As we near the second anniversary of the start of Covid lockdown, let us hope we can finally say that Covid is sunsetting.


thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, manhattan bridge, photo essay,

Sunset over Brooklyn and Manhattan from the Manhattan Bridge | 19 january 2022



Walking has been my great escape. After two years of pandemic lockdowns and lessenings, and nearly four million steps later, I’ve covered a lot of ground during the pandemic/endemic. I’ve touched down in all five boroughs (and New Jersey) many times over, crossing every bridge out of Manhattan with a footpath. I’ve ridden most of the island’s ferries and discovered new places throughout the city that I may never have under “normal” circumstances.


On my excursions, I’ve taken nearly 2,000 photos. Without the hustle and bustle of millions of people, the landscape presented itself in new ways. Here’s my sunset series shots from march 2020 thru february 2022, under many different conditions.


thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, 59th street bridge, photo essay,

The 59th Street Bridge (Queensboro Bridge) | 25 february 2022



thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, east river, photo essay,

NYC skyline looking northwest over the East River | 1 september 2020



thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, east river, photo essay,

Panoramic of Long Island City from the East River walkway | 26 july 2021



thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, manhattan bridge, photo essay,

Sunset over Brooklyn and Manhattan from the Manhattan Bridge | 16 december 2021



thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, east river, long island city, photo essay,

The 59th Street Bridge (Queensboro Bridge) and Long Island City | 29 september 2021



thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, empire state building, nyc skyline, photo essay,

Empire State Building and NYC skyline | 11 june 2020



thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sunsets, west side, hudson river, lower manhattan, photo essay,

Hudson River walkway looking south to lower Manhattan and New Jersey | 13 december 2020



Not part of my sunset series, but a shot that I took on 29 march 2020 that seemed lighthearted and worth documenting – when we thought the very bizarre new situation called lockdown would only be a few weeks long. This chalk message on the sidewalks of New York City feels more well-earned now.


thecuriousg, the sunsets I've seen, covid19 lockdown walks, nyc sidewalk graffiti, 2020 it's going to be alright, photo essay,

What did you "discover" about your city or town during Covid?



Photos: © 2020-2022 Janet Giampietro | Post title with respect to Dr Seuss

90 views

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page