top of page
Search

The Power of Color and Light

Falling into a negative mindset can be easy during these uncertain times. Finding #simplicity in the environment has been great in uplifting my spirits.


thecuriousg, power of color and light, covid19, unpause, photo essay, courage,

After three months of Covid-19 sequestration, New York City enters Phase II today. What happens after #stayathome remains to be seen.


The challenges of maintaining good physical and mental health have been many. All that we know has been temporarily frozen. Walking has been my salvation and spring has been quite beautiful. I discovered the colorful sprays of the season and the amazing skyline of the city. The powers of color and light have kept me going.


I’ve covered every obscure path in the hope of seeing one tiny bit of new. Along the many routes I’ve walked – uptown, downtown and across the river – I have watched humans try to find isolation and peace in every nook and cranny. Reading books in the alcoves of great architecture. Planting tiny vertical gardens on a tiny terrace. Relaxing on the smallest patch of grass on a median. Exercising against fences with home-made contraptions.


The density that gives the city its energy is nearly impossible to manage when 90% of the city is shut down. But we New Yorkers are tough, creative and courageous. We made it this far against enormous odds. Perhaps the midway point is in sight.


Take a look at some of the colors and conditions I've photographed over the past three months.



I've been documenting life in the city during the pandemic. Read my previous posts here and here.


What's the first thing you'll do (or did do) when the stay-at-home orders are (were) lifted?



Photos: © 2020 Janet Giampietro

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page