top of page
Search

One Year Later: Preparing for ‘Normal’

On 11 march 2020, the World Health Organization (WHO) declared Covid-19 a global pandemic. Little did we know that we would wait a year to see light at the end of the tunnel.


one year later, preparing for normal, steps walked in one year, things completed during covid, covid 19 at one year,

But light there is. In many areas across the country Covid vaccines are arriving more quickly and in greater numbers. Getting appointments is still challenging – tilted toward those who have digital access – and even then, booking takes time and persistence. Much more work to do there.


The lives we once knew were changed forever. We hunkered down and adapted. Most of us did, which brought us to this tipping point.


First and foremost, I’m incredibly fortunate that for the most part, my family and friends are healthy and well. But a day doesn’t go by when reality hits me that more than 500,000 people have succumbed to this horrible virus. Families are broken and the carnage Covid wrought is enormous.


It’s a good time to take a step back to review what I have and have not done over the past year, and take a look ahead for re-entry into the world, if we’re lucky.



What Kept Me Busy


I went back to my first Covid post to find out what my plan was at our First 10 Days on PAUSE. I’m proud to say that some of my goals were realized, while others – oh well.


Walking

As you can see from the top image, I’ve covered a lot of ground. Walking became my escape and my entertainment. From 1 march thru this posting, I’ve walked over two million steps: From river to river in the city many times over, across four bridges, and through three of New York City’s five boroughs.


Photographing

On my walking excursions, I’ve taken over 1,000 photos. Scenes and places that I’ve never noticed before suddenly presented themselves. Some of the images:


Cooking

So I didn’t follow through with the peppers and anchovies recipes, but I did experiment with 50 new recipes. Some successful, some not, but I've added new ingredients to my tool kit.


Organizing

I hit a home run with this task. Over 90% of my home has been reorganized for the better.


Watching

Films and streaming theater were in abundance (and I’m so grateful). My Film Fanatics and Drama Queens Zoom groups kept me busy (and connected). I watched nearly 150 films and 35 plays – old and new.



Plans That Didn’t Pan Out


All the books that I’d planned to read and adopting a daily exercise regimen – umm, no. I couldn't stay focused on more than two books over 12 months, and the daily exercise routine lasted a week. I can’t wait to get back to the gym.



Where Things Are Now


Covid cases have fallen significantly. Nearly 34 million people have been fully vaccinated and more than 64 million have at least one vaccine dose, at this writing. If we can keep up social distancing and masking at least through June when we may be on target to reach herd immunity, it’s possible that we could have a real summer. Summer, even with the city’s oppressive heat, would be so welcome. And then seeing arts, culture, and sports live, and planning travel might be on the horizon.


While we may all be a bit dented, I hope that everyone has discovered one positive aspect of the past year and can move that forward. At the very least, most of us have probably learned to be more creative and think outside the box to get things done when obstacles appear.


Pat yourself on the back. In these most challenging and unbelievable circumstances, if you've made it through an entire year of Covid lockdown, still have a shred of sanity and are relatively healthy, that’s an achievement of the highest order. Kudos to us all!

Design + animation: © 2021 Janet Giampietro.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page